Moving On

I want my first blog post to tell a bit about myself and how I’ve ended up at the University of Maine. My life really changed when I graduated from high school and decided to attend my first semester of college at a private college in New York City.

Wagner College is a small, private liberal arts college on Staten Island in New York. The campus is green, lively, and just down-right beautiful. If you were to take a campus tour, you would want to attend this school in a heartbeat- until you looked at the price. They ask for $50,000 a year and the financial aid is very weak. I, being a senior in high school, ignored this fact and went on with my dream of going to school in the Big Apple.

When I first arrived here as a freshman, I didn’t know a soul and kept to myself. I started making friends in class and when I joined the school newspaper. We would all meet up and take trips out to the city almost every day. It was an amazing time in my life.

A few months in, I started noticing a serious dent in my bank account. Those trips out to the city were adding up, as were the student loans. Books, tuition, transportation, and food were so costly in this area and I couldn’t keep up.

At the end of the fall semester at Wagner, I decided to transfer to the University of Maine for financial reasons. This was one of the toughest decisions of my life because being in the Big City was my one and only dream. I felt that I had given up on myself.

My first semester at UMaine, I felt comfortable and at home. There was some piece that was missing, though. This piece was definitely the city life and atmosphere. I missed that disgusting smell of sewer and being pushed by mean, aggressive walkers on the sidewalk. Maine has its perks, but the city has everything.

After the first semester of wallowing and nostalgia, I decided to turn things around. I decided that my decision was a smart and logical one. I decided to be happy with myself. Once I did this, I felt great at UMaine. I love my friends, my major, and not being completely broke.

If you leave my blog with one thing, leave with this: Moving on is never easy, but it is worth it. If you work hard enough, you will eventually achieve your goals and dreams. No matter how out-of-reach they may seem, it is possible.

Leave a Reply

